top of page
Search

How to keep healthy hair under Braids



A lot of people do not wear braids because they believe they are damaging to the hair or not for their texture of hair. Let me be the first to tell you that braids can be worn by any and every race and ethnicity no matter hair type!


Also, braids do not damage the hair, improper hair care damages the hair! So, if you are a person who has experienced damaged hair, but you wear braids a lot there could be somethings you need to start doing to strengthen your hair under your braids.

If you are a person who does not wear braids because of your fear of what braids can do to the hair, these tips for healthy hair under braids will change your mind!


Lets explore some healthy hair tips while wearing braids

1. ALWAYS WASH HAIR BEFORE INSTALLATION


WASH,WASH,WASH! It is important to wash your hair before installing braids. Dirty hair will be easy to break and is already dry, so, stitching braids on top of dirt is a big NO NO!

*I use Pantene-truly natural because I am natural and it has a product for everything to keep my natural hair beautiful. During my washing routine I wash 3 times to make sure all the dirt is out. Then I deep condition my hair for 30 minutes. The co-wash is great for rejuvenating and moisturizing hair before the deep conditioning. Finally, I blow dry moisturizer and argan oil into my hair with heat protector. This protects my hair from the heat while adding shine.


2. CLIP YOUR ENDS

I hate clipping my ends just like every other girl, but its necessary! Clipping your ends ensures healthy hair. When you clip your ends you are clipping off dead hair, which can stop new and healthy hair from growing. When you avoid clipping your ends, your hair will began to shred bad, fall out, and stay the same length. Clipping your ends is the key to the hair growing.

So when you are cringing from getting your ends clipped think to yourself.....cutting is growing LOL!



3. MOISTURIZE HAIR


Moisture is important for the skin, scalp, and hair! If you haven't been moisturizing your hair, you may notice that its dry, easily break and brittle, or simply has not grown. Stop holding back and get some moisturizer TODAY by clicking on the image.

Moisturizer is good for babies and adults! It keeps hair from getting dry and does not block the pours from breathing, which is important for healthy hair to grow.

I use African Pride Shea Miracle Moisture Intense Silky Curls Moisturizer for my natural hair and it rejuvenates the hair follicles and coats the hair with minerals that leave your hair shining and bouncy! It also helps with natural hair curls, leaving them shining and neat, instead of dry and frizzy!I love love love this line of products!

*If you use this brand leave a comment on what you love about it below or mention the brand of moisturizer that you use.


4. OIL SCALP


Oiling your scalp is very important, especially when you have dry hair like me that sucks up moisturizers. Oil keeps the moisture in the hair and nutrients in the scalp.

I use wild grow hair oil because I believe it is the best hair oil on the market. I even use it on my two daughters' hair as well and I am a witness to its results!

* if you know of any other hair oils that produce great results share in the comments section.


5. WASH BRAIDS BEFORE UNINSTALLING


Many people are surprised that I do this. But I do! Why? Because it loosens up the dirt that could've broken your hair off when taking the braids out. For example, there will not be any knot balls under your braids, like the ones that grow under micro braids. Hence, my first wash are with my braids still installed. I wash two more times when I take my hair down.

Try it!

6. STAY CONSISTENT WITH PRODUCTS


You may notice that I use Pantene for my hair washing and conditioning needs, Shea miracle for moisturizer, and wild grow to oil my scalp. They all work well to maintain and grow hair. If Panteene had moisturizer for natural hair and a growth serum I would use it, but unfortunately they do not and the products you see features in this post, I have been using for years have provided great results.

The reason I think consistency in your products is one of the most important things to do if you wear braids is because when you change products the products change your hair. It may change the speed of growth. It may change the texture of you hair. It might make your hair fall out from the ingredients in the product.

So, my advice to someone thinking of switching because some else advises them too is to stick with what you have found that grows your hair. If you are having trouble growing your hair, you may need to take their advice and use product catered to your hair type and texture, like I do.


Most important Tip: Dont reinvent the wheel if you already happy with you hair growth, just share with us what products you use!


That's all for today. I am so sorry this post was so long, but I had to give every tip that helps me with hopes that it helps you!

Thanks for tuning in and share your comments below. I cant wait to hear from you.



 

Don't forget to like, share, and leave a comment

Explore More Braids posts....

Thanks so much for chilling with me

Cheers to being the REAL you!

XOXO

Stay connected with me on Instagram @the_andrea_amore


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page