top of page
Search

The Braid Up: Feed-in Layered Braids

Updated: Oct 29, 2018




Hey Loves, Happy Monday!

As you all know, I braid my own hair. Its not easy, its time consuming, but its worth it! Braiding my own hair is something I have done since I was 12 years old. MAinly because my mom braided my hait tooooo tight for me, so I learned to braid my own hair lol.

Becoming a Braidologist-one who specializes and studies braids, has been fulfilling because I use my gift to rejuvenate my clients hair and empower their beauty.

Plus, it's not better feeling than my clients giving me a BIG hug because they love their hair!

I have been doing feed-in braids since 2011, but at that time I was only adding hair to my clients tips. Now, feed-in braids are BOOMING and require you to braid to the scalp while feeding hair in verses using one piece of hair to braid one braid.


The change and demand of feed-in braid is why I am showcasing this hairstyle!


I started braiding hair back home, in Chicago, where I built my clientele. Now that I have relocated to Little Rock, I am building new clientele and my brand.

So, if you are in the Little Rock or Chicago area and you are in need of a beautician for your child, which is my specialty, or looking to get some braids, book your appointment now!


Now, lets get into the step-by-step of how I installed my feed-in layered braids!


As you can see I AM NATURAL!

I also specialize in natural hair care. SO, Braids are my best friends! It keeps me from fighting with my thick hair and its very convenient for my hectic schedule.


These are all the elements I use when I braid hair:

A comb

Edge Control

Edge timer brush

scissors

a mirror

rubber bands

hair food


(I told y'all I LOVE PINK LOL)

I usually use Xpression hair, but I ran into this hair shopping for my inventory this weekend. A girl like me loves to save!

Its cheaper than Xpression, it's pre-stretched, and it can be set in hot water, so I tried it.

Ill let you guys know all about the longevity in another post.

For now, lets just say its cheaper and pre-stretched.



(Excuse my big hands, I've had them alllll my life LOL)

After I wash my hair, I give it a good blow dry so that I do not have to struggle to part my hair, which is a struggle for anyone natural lol.

The next and arguably the hardest thing to do is to part my own hair.

This is where the mirror, rubber bands, and comb comes in.


A rat tailed comb to perfect my lines and make them even, the mirrior to see the back of my head, and rubber bands to hold my hair after I part the sections.


After I perfect my parts, I can Braid.

Fee-in braids can be complicated because you are adding pieces of hair as you braid. It can make the braids look clumpy and not smooth to touch if you dont practice.

I am a perfectionist when it comes to braiding, so I practiced and perfected feed-in braids on my own hair before offering the style to my clients.


Feed-in braids are very time- consuming. My advice is to get your braids installed, then braid your ends down.


It will save you time!


Almost done!

Yes, I was I enjoy red wine!




YES, I enjoy Red Wine!




By the time I was done with layer two, it was dinner time!


*It takes 5 to 8 hours to do feed-in layer braids, depending on how many layers and how long they are.




DONE!

The Aftermath leaves my hair REJUVENATED and my beauty EMPOWERED!


If you are in the Little Rock or Chicago area, book your appointment now! I would love to rejuvenate your hair and empower your beauty!


 

Don't forget to like share, and leave a comment

Explore More braid post...

Thanks so much for chilling with me

Cheers to being the REAL you!

XOXO

Stay connected with me on instagram @the_andrea_amore












0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page